Status of Women Council of the NWT
Status of Women Council of the NWT


Strong women are helping to build the Northwest Territories and we want to share their stories with you.

Natasha Kulikowski

Inuvik Mayor Natasha Kulikowski chats about her historic 2018 election win! Listen to the full interview below. 

Tina McNeill

Tina is a dedicated leader in her community of Fort Smith. She recently became the recipient of the 2019 Community Champion Award presented by the NWT Disability Council. In this interview, Tina discusses living with a disability in the NWT and her passion to continuously give back to her community. Listen to the full interview below.

Lena Pedersen

Lena was the first woman elected to the NWT Legislative Council (now the Legislative Assembly) to serve as the Central Arctic MLA from 1970 to 1975. Lena has worked tirelessly on behalf of the people of the North throughout her life through her work, her volunteer activities, her appointments, and as the first woman MLA. Lena was a trailblazer and an inspiration to us all. Click here for our Women in Leadership interview with Lena.

Below is a snippet from our interview with Lena Pedersen.